Located in a former power plant, the Museum retains the original Busch-Sulzer diesel engine and generator which operate in demo mode upon request. A 4-foot long locomotive model with whistle runs in place. There are a variety of displays which visitors can view at their leisure, subjects ranging from the Chesapeake Bay crater formed 35 million year ago, Arlington mansion and associated artifacts from early 17th century, the coming of the New York, Philadelphia & Norfolk railroad and rail car floats in 1880s, and the building of the town’s unique Victorian style and Sears houses in the early 20th century. Models of sailing ships, workboats, and the graceful steamers, ferries & tugs that crossed the Bay for 80 years are on display, as well as objects of those times – silverware, china, timetables, railroad switch locks, tools, etc. There is a large model of the Bridge-Tunnel which opened in 1964, replacing the passenger ferry service. The barge freight service is still in operation. Binders of archival photos and recorded interviews of notable local people can be perused. A baggage car and caboose, open to visitors, sit behind the museum. Docents will answer questions about displays and local venues. Free town and county maps, information on area attractions, and other points of interest are complimentary. The Museum Shop offers local postcards and books, and some children’s items. Outdoor tables may be used for picnics and snacks; children may climb aboard the large tractor in front of the museum. Free admission.


Address: 814 Randolph Avenue, Cape Charles, VA 23310
Phone: 757.331.1008
Email: ccmuseum@hughes.net

Open from late April through November
Weekdays 10 am to 2 pm
Saturdays 10 am to 5 pm
Sundays 1 pm to 5 pm